Saket Was Lit With This Nukkad Natak Competition

Nukkad Natak is an integral part of Delhi. In a city where people are always busy running, Nukkad gives them a reason to stop and acknowledge the things happening around them. It is a medium to communicate knowledge, facts and viewpoints on various social issues to the common man in an entertaining manner. Jazba Theatre Group the theatre society of Ramanujan College Delhi University has been organising their Street play theatre festival- Sagar Nagpal Memorial Nukkad Natak Competition for the past 7 years now, providing enthusiastic young artists from various colleges within Delhi University and outside with a platform to showcase their talent and creativity. Every year Jazba organises this event in the memory of Sagar Nagpal, a former member of Jazba Theatre Group who single-handedly held the entire fervour of the team and kept everybody around him dedicated and enthused towards the team. Unfortunately, due to health issues, the organization lost him to fate in February 2011.


This year with the organisation completing 11 successful years, the festival was celebrated with more enthusiasm, exclusivity and excitement at Select City Walk, Saket. The motive of the event was to pay tribute to the legendary theatre personality, Mr Om Puri, who recently passed away. The decor and theme were a nostalgic reminder of the grand and amazing life of this evergreen superstar. The atmosphere was a blend of intense passion and high emotions, as the top nukkad teams performed for an awestruck audience. Jazba stepped away from the clichéd concept of chief guests and instead, invited 30 young children from NGOs like Bal Vikas Dhara and Sewa Bharat as chief guests for the event.

 Following is a list of all the colleges along with the awards they bagged respectively at the event.

  • Winner – Institute of Home Economics
  • Runners Up – Maharaja Agrasen Institute of Technology
  • 2nd Runners Up – Guru Tegh Bahadur Singh Institute of Technology
  • Best Script- Shaheed Bhagat Singh College (Morning)
  • Best actor- Pranav (Shaheed Bhagat Singh College Morning)
  • Best actress- Chitra Indra Gandhi Delhi Technological Institute)
  • Aman Saxena Memorial Best Music Award – Guru Tegh Bahadur Singh Institute of Technology




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *